top of page

Top 10 Best Nap Spots in Disney World

Sometimes you just need to recharge your batteries. As a father I understand the value of naps, and I only wish my son understood just how great naps are. I love to catch a quick 10 minute cat nap in the parks during the dog days of summer. A 10 minute nap in the air conditioning can work wonders. I am proud to say that I have fallen asleep in all 10 locations on the list.

Animal Kingdom

This park probably has the worst nap locations, and for most of you they will probably just be a place to escape the crowds, as the chairs aren’t particularly comfortable and easy to fall asleep in.

10. Song of the Rainforest: Most people don’t even know that this attraction exists. It is inside the Rafiki’s Planet Watch area, and takes you on an audio journey into the rainforest. Each room fits 6 people and has reduced lighting, plus a soundtrack of the rainforest in the background. It is like getting to take a nap with one of those fancy sound machines.

9. Restaurantosaurus: This one is a bit more of a stretch, but during the afternoon, between lunch and dinner rush, the back of this restaurant is usually empty. There are small individual rooms if you walk in and go to the left. It might not be the perfect place for an adult to nap, but for a kid in a stroller this quiet, air conditioned location is just the ticket.

Epcot

I love Epcot, and I normally just go ride the Nemo Ride a few times if I am feeling tired, but if I need a good 20 or 30 minute nap this park has great options with comfortable seats.

8. Circle of Life: Found inside the Land pavilion this movie with Timon and Pumbaa provides you with a solid 20 minute nap in comfortable theater seats. The best part is, that if you decide you want 40 minutes just circle around and watch it again. I have never had to wait to go back in a second time, in fact I have convinced cast members to just let me stay in my seat. Now, I will say, you owe it to yourself to stay awake for this show at some point. I am slightly biased as an Environmental Science teacher, but I think the preservation of our planet is extremely important.

7. The American Adventure: This show is found in the World Showcase. It is a 30 minute long video with very comfortable seats. Again, you owe it to yourself to watch this at least once, it really is a great film.

Hollywood Studios

The nap locations here are okay. There used to be two great ones, but Star Wars ruined that (RIP Animation Academy).

6. For the First Time in Forever: The Frozen Sing-A-Long that replaced the American Idol Experience. It is a little loud, but the A/C is cold, I mean really cold. I think they want it to feel like winter in there. The noise doesn’t bother me, kids love it, and the cold A/C feels great. Suck it up Dads, go watch Frozen with your kids.

5. One Man’s Dream: Take a nice relaxing stroll through a museum about the life of Walt, and then end it with a nap. At the end of this walkthrough there is a 15 minute film narrated by Julie Andrews. On a hot day in Studios there is nothing more relaxing than falling asleep while Julie Andrews narrates. Again, this is a movie you should stay awake for at some point.

Magic Kingdom

I think I end up napping in this park more than any other park. It opens early, it stays open late, I have been in this park for well over 12 hours on multiple occasions. It gets tiring!

4. The Haunted Mansion: I do not understand the appeal of this ride. It feels out of place to me in Disney World. This is supposed to be the happiest place on earth, not the creepiest. When my son is old enough to realize what is going on I probably will keep him off this ride for a few years, I remember being terrified as a young child. I will say, that it does make for a nice nap, but the line is usually too long to make it worth it. If I am with a big group there is almost always a Haunted Mansion fan, so we end up going anyway, and I sleep the entire time.

3. Carousel of Progress: It’s a great big beautiful tomorrow. It is also a great big beautiful nap, enough said.

2. Hall of Presidents: This show is great to take a nap in. It has very comfortable seats, A/C, and that old carpet smell like a church or library. This is another ride that I really suggest you stay awake for at least once. It is a fascinating look at all of our leaders, and I think it is important to know where we have been to see where we are going.

The Number One Nap Location in Disney World Is…

1. YOUR ROOM: There is absolutely nothing wrong with sneaking back to your room in the middle of the day to catch a nap. In fact, there is nothing wrong with leaving the parks just to get out of the heat of the day. You can check out my favorite ways to beat the heat here.

bottom of page